

# COMMUNICATION # CC-2019-0138

- TITLE:Extensions to Citizen Appointments City of Moose Jaw's Boards,<br/>Committees and Commissions
- TO: City Council
- FROM: City Clerk/Solicitor's Department

DATE: August 1, 2019

PUBLIC: PUBLIC DOCUMENT

#### RECOMMENDATION

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Cultural Diversity Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: Dalise Hector and Stefanie Palmer (as alternate) as representatives of the Moose Jaw Multicultural Council; Rosemarie Zaba Stewart as representative of Sask. Polytechnic; Amanda McCann as representative of Prairie South School Division; Selinda England as Citizen-at-Large; and Lisa Abbasi as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Environment Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: Todd Johnson and Trish German (as alternate) as representatives of Wakamow Valley Authority; Elisa McLeod as representative of 15 Wing; Rob Clark as representative of Moose Jaw Chamber of Commerce; Nicklaus Clayson as Citizen-at-Large; and David Kanz as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Heritage Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: Scott Hellings as Citizen-at-Large; Karla Rasmussen as Citizen-at-Large; and Larry Hellings as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Murals Project Management Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: Norma Westgard as Citizen-at-Large and Erin Westgard as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: John Parsons as Citizen-at-Large; David Richards as Citizen-at-Large; Mark Hanson as Citizen-at-Large; and Kim Robinson as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Special Needs Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: Steve Seida as Citizen-at-Large and James Allonby as Citizen-at-Large.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Transportation Services Advisory Committee be extended to December 31, 2019: James Allonby as Citizen-at-Large; Daryl New as representative of the Special Needs Advisory Committee; Barry Stewart as representative of Prairie South School Division; and Gerry Turcotte as representative of Holy Trinity Roman Catholic School Division.

THAT terms for the following appointments to the Wakamow Valley Authority be extended to December 31, 2019: Rece Allen as Citizen-at-Large and David Richards as Citizen-at-Large.

## TOPIC AND PURPOSE

To present Council with the names of citizen members of City of Moose Jaw Boards, Committees and Commissions who are willing to have their terms extended to December 31, 2019, as per Council's direction from the June 24, 2019 Executive Committee meeting.

## BACKGROUND

At the June 24, 2019 Executive Committee meeting, Communication #EC-2019-0056 re: Review of Boards, Committees and Commissions presented recommendations for a comprehensive review of the City's Board, Committee and Commission structure and appointments. It was decided that citizen appointments would be extended to the end of 2019 to allow Boards, Committees and Commissions to continue to function pending the outcome of the review. Council passed a resolution that read, in part:

"THAT any Committee, Board or Commission member whose term expires on August 31, 2019, be approached to allow their appointment to be extended to December 31, 2019."

Subsequently, Administration sent letters to the citizen members of the City's Boards, Committees and Commissions whose terms are set to expire August 31, 2019 regarding their willingness to remain in their respective positions until December 31, 2019. (The Economic Development Commission has been dormant and therefore no extension requests were sent.)

## DISCUSSION

A majority of citizen members responded and were willing to extend their terms. Therefore, this report recommends that the following citizen terms be extended to December 31, 2019:

## Cultural Diversity Advisory Committee:

Dalise Hector (Stefanie Palmer, alternate) Rosemarie Zaba Stewart Amanda McCann Selinda England Lisa Abbasi

## **Environment Advisory Committee:**

Todd Johnson (Trish German, alternate) Elisa McLeod Rob Clark Nicklaus Clayson David Kanz

## Heritage Advisory Committee:

Scott Hellings Karla Rasmussen Larry Hellings

#### **Murals Project Management Committee:**

Norma Westgard Erin Westgard

## Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee:

John Parsons David Richards Mark Hanson Kim Robinson

#### Special Needs Advisory Committee:

Steve Seida James Allonby

## Transportation Services Advisory Committee:

James Allonby Daryl New Barry Stewart Gerry Turcotte

## Wakamow Valley Authority:

Rece Allen David Richards

## PUBLIC AND/OR STAKEHOLDER INVOLVEMENT

Letters were sent to all citizen members of City of Moose Jaw Boards, Committees and Commissions, whose term of appointment will expire on August 31, 2019, notifying them of the pending review and seeking consent to extend their appointments to December 31, 2019.

## **OTHER CONSIDERATIONS/IMPLICATIONS**

There is no policy, financial, or privacy implications, official community plan implementation strategies or other considerations.

## PUBLIC NOTICE

Public Notice pursuant to the Public Notice Policy is not required.

#### PRESENTATION

VERBAL: The City Clerk/Solicitor will be present to answer questions from members of Council.

## **ATTACHMENTS**

No attachments.

#### **REPORT APPROVAL**

Written by:Maureen Latta, City Council SupportReviewed by:Tracy Wittke, Assistant City ClerkApproved by:Myron Gulka-Tiechko, City Clerk/SolicitorApproved by:Jim Puffalt, City ManagerApproved by:Fraser Tolmie, Mayor

To be completed by the Clerk's Department only.

Presented to Regular Council or Executive Committee on \_\_\_\_\_

No.\_\_\_\_\_

Resolution No.