

City of Moose Jaw

COMMUNICATION # CC-2019-0175

TITLE: Appointments to the Youth Advisory Committee

TO: City Council

FROM: City Clerk/Solicitor's Department

DATE: September 4, 2019

PUBLIC: PUBLIC DOCUMENT

RECOMMENDATION

THAT Mayor Fraser Tolmie be appointed as the City Council representative to the Youth Advisory Committee for a term of office to commence September 1, 2019 and to conclude June 30, 2020; and

THAT Sara Wiens, Fernando Jose Boniza, Mariya Kotova, Ha'Keena Maneso, Sarah Gutek, Carina Pilon, Hayley Cowan, Reginald Tallud, Jadyn Moser and Rohit Vij be appointed as youth-at-large representatives to the Youth Advisory Committee for a term of office to commence September 1, 2019 and to conclude June 30, 2020.

TOPIC AND PURPOSE

The purpose of this report is to present City Council with the name of the Council representative and the names of students who have expressed an interest in appointment as youth-at-large representatives to the City of Moose Jaw's Youth Advisory Committee.

BACKGROUND

The City of Moose Jaw's Youth Advisory Committee was formed by City Council under the authority of Section 55 of *The Cities Act*. The Terms of Reference for the Youth Advisory Committee are as follows:

- To stimulate and promote youth interest in civic issues and local politics and to serve as a forum for young persons to express opinions about the City.
- To identify things in our community that are valued by youth, including the things that are considered to be assets, strengths and opportunities in our community by young persons.

• To make recommendations to City Council on issues affecting the youth of our community, including changes to municipal programs to make them youth friendly.

DISCUSSION

Members of the Youth Advisory Committee are appointed by City Council on an annual basis for a term of office of one (1) calendar school year. Meetings are held at the call of the Chairperson with a meeting schedule to be determined at the first meeting of the year. Participation in the Youth Advisory Committee is on a voluntary basis.

Composition of the Committee is:

- One (1) member of City Council
- Two (2) student representatives from each of the following:

Prairie South School Division No. 210

- Central Collegiate
- Cornerstone Christian School
- Peacock Collegiate
- Riverview Collegiate
- John Chisholm School

Holy Trinity Catholic Separate School Division No. 22

• Vanier Collegiate Ecole Ducharme School Saskatchewan Polytechnic

• Up to four (4) youth-at-large representatives (age 18 to 25 years and cannot be students from schools currently represented on the Committee.)

PRESENTATION

VERBAL: Mr. Gulka-Tiechko, City Clerk/Solicitor's Department will provide a brief overview of the report.

ATTACHMENTS

i. **CONFIDENTIAL** - Youth Advisory Committee applications from Sara Wiens, Fernando Jose Boniza, Mariya Kotova, Ha'Keena Maneso, Sarah Gutek, Carina Pilon, Hayley Cowan, Reginald Tallud, Jadyn Moser and Rohit Vij. [LAFOIP section 23]

REPORT APPROVAL

Written by:Pearl Anderson, Committee Support ClerkReviewed by:Tracy Wittke, Assistant City ClerkApproved by:Myron Gulka-Tiechko, City Clerk/SolicitorApproved by:Jim Puffalt, City ManagerApproved by:Fraser Tolmie, Mayor

To be completed by the Clerk's Department only.

Presented to Regular Council or Executive Committee on _____

No._____

Resolution No.

Report Approval Details

Document Title:	Appointments to the Youth Advisory Committee - CC-2019- 0175.docx
Attachments:	- 2019 YAC Applicants.pdf
Final Approval Date:	Sep 17, 2019

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Tracy Wittke

Myron Gulka-Tiechko



Jim Puffalt

No Signature - Task assigned to Fraser Tolmie was completed by workflow administrator Maureen Latta

Fraser Tolmie