

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES PUBLIC

Monday, January 27, 2020, 6:55 p.m. Council Chambers, (Public) Scoop Lewry Room (In-Camera) 2nd Floor, City Hall

PRESENT: Mayor Tolmie

Councillor D. Luhning, Chairperson

Councillor H. Eby

Councillor S. McMann Councillor C. Froese Councillor C. Warren Councillor B. Swanson

ADMIN: B. Acker

D. Blais

J. Mickleborough

M. Sanson

M. Gulka-Tiechko

T. Wittke J. Puffalt E. Anderson M. Latta

MEDIA: Moose Jaw Today

1. CALL TO ORDER

Councillor Luhning, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 6:55 p.m.

a. Order of Agenda Items

Moved by Councillor Froese

THAT the order of agenda items 2a and 2b be reversed.

Carried

2. REPORTS

a. City Council – Local Improvement Policy, EC-2019-0186

Moved by Councillor Eby

THAT anyone in the gallery who wishes to speak be allowed to do so.

Carried

Mr. John Bye, resident, addressed members of Executive Committee.

Mr. Don Mitchell, resident, addressed members of Executive Committee.

Councillor Swanson rose on a Point of Order with a concern regarding the audibility of some speakers in Council.

Mayor Tolmie left the meeting at 7:35 p.m. and returned at 7:36 p.m.

Moved by Councillor Eby

THAT Council adopt the Local Improvement Policy, substantially, in the form attached as Schedule "A".

Carried

b. Cemetery Monument Regulations, EC-2020-0023

Moved by Mayor Tolmie

THAT the Monument Regulations for the Rosedale Cemetery and Moose Jaw Cemeteries be approved substantially in the form attached.

Carried

3. **CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS**

Moved by Councillor Froese

THAT the Executive Committee close the meeting to the public and proceed in-camera pursuant to Section 94(2) of The Cities Act as confidential information is contained within one or more of the exemptions in Part III of The Local Authority Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, in particular, section 15, 16 and 21.

Carried

The Executive Committee closed the meeting at 7:50 p.m. to the public with the following persons in attendance: Councillor Luhning; Mayor Tolmie; Councillor Froese; Councillor McMann; Councillor Warren; Councillor Swanson; Councillor Eby; Jim Puffalt; Myron Gulka-Tiechko; Brian Acker; Tracy Wittke; Josh Mickleborough; Michelle Sanson; Derek Blais; Al Bromley; Rod Montgomery; and Elaine Anderson.

- a. Confidential Matter, EC-2020-0030
- Confidential Matter, EC-2020-0031
- c. Confidential Procedural Matter

d. BACK TO OPEN SESSION

Moved by Councillor Eby

THAT the Executive Committee go out of in-camera.

Carried

The Executive Committee opened the meeting to the public at 8:51 p.m.

4. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Moved by Councillor Warren

THAT the Executive Committee meeting be adjourned.

Carried

The Executive Committee meeting adjourned at 8:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

(Sgd.) <u>Councillor Luhning</u>

Chairperson